Posted in daily diary

Day 8: Accountant, shopping, playground & dry weather

Monday 27 September

I think we may finally be over the jetlag! Yay! Everyone had a good night’s sleep, and we woke at reasonable hours. And we woke to find the rain had finally stopped, which was even better.

Today we had an appointment with our accountant. It all sounds pretty easy – they’ll register us for GST, we operate as sole-traders, keep everything on a giant spreadsheet, and we get to claim back GST on our business expenses. We also popped to the bank to open another bank account – so that’ll be 4. In a week. 🙂

In the afternoon, I went to Bayfair, the shopping mall at Mount Maunganui, to buy slippers. Mine are in the container, and it’s cold enough that we’ve got the fire on most days, so I’ve got permanently cold feet. I went on my own, and had a lovely couple of hours browsing the shops. I’m still confused about prices – some things seem very cheap, some compare with UK prices, and others seem very expensive. It will take a while to get used to it.

I had to laugh when I peeked into the jewellery shop window – they have a daily price for items, as if this makes it seem less expensive:

20160926_150854.jpg

I also popped into the supermarket for a few bits, and found this:

20160926_154408.jpg

Handbag sized bottles of my favourite wine, for those travel emergencies.

These reminded me of my childhood – a tray of eggs. My mum used to pop to the farm for them, but they weren’t covered in plastic back then.

20160926_152728.jpg

 

And for my friends in the rail industry (hello Mr & Mrs E!) – yes, there are trains over here. I got stuck at the crossing behind a long train carrying massive tree trunks (I think I also get bonus points on this picture for the two utes which are in shot):

2016-09-26-16.39.00.jpg.jpg

While I was out, N took the girls to their new school to play in the playground, and they had a great time exploring and clambering over everything. I still find it strange that you are able to do that, after the way schools are locked down in the UK. S is very excited at the prospect of getting a key to the school pool over summer, so we can go swimming whenever we like.

Week two has begun. Fingers crossed that the weather stays dry, and maybe we’ll even get a bit of sunshine.

Author:

Kiwi, just returned home after 17 years in the UK. Feminist, wife, mother to 2 daughters. Strongly opinionated and very vocal. I'm wicked through and through.

Leave a Reply

