Posted in daily diary

Day 12: Spending money & more beach action

Friday 30 September

Number of days since I accidentally turned on the wipers instead of indicating while driving: 1

Well we popped back into the car dealer, just to take another look at the lovely car we saw yesterday, and accidentally ended up buying it! I don’t know if it was just this particular dealer, or just buying a car in NZ in general, but the whole process was remarkably laid back.

We said “Yes, we’ll take it.”

We discussed what would happen to the faulty reversing camera.

He said “I guess you’ll want it for the weekend? We can have it ready in an hour.”

I said “Do you want a deposit?” waving my new EFTPOS/Debit card.

He said “No, don’t worry. See you in an hour.”

We said “OK!” and went off to get lunch (McDs – S’s choice), and then onto the school playground to kill some time.

We went back when it was ready, with its shiny new number plates on:

2016-10-01-11.01.07.jpg.jpg

I had another quick chat with the dealer while N was on the phone arranging car insurance.

He gave me a piece of paper with their bank account details on.

I said “Shall I do this now?” pulling out my phone, ready to try the new banking app on my phone.

He said “Nah, don’t worry. Do it later.”

I signed some papers. He signed some papers. He gave me some papers.

He gave us the keys.

And off we drove with our lovely new car!

It’s rather enormous, comfortably seats six, although you could get 8 in there if they all had tiny bums. It’s an automatic, which is a bit odd for me, but I’m getting used to it. The indicator and wipers are on opposite sides than they were in our car in England, but same as for B’s car, which I had been driving around. I keep managing to turn on the wipers, instead of indicating, but I think I’m getting the hang of it now.

After we got home to show off our new toy to B & G, we decided that a beach visit was in order as the weather was still nice. And it also gave me an excuse to go for a spin in the new car. So we headed to the nearest beach, which was around 10 minutes away. The kids made a new friend, and had a great time playing – and this time we remembered swimming costumes and towels, which was a bonus.

20160930_163520.jpg

L and N were making an indestructible castle. It didn’t survive the incoming tide though.

20160930_164636.jpg

And after dinner, I remembered to pay for the car!

Tomorrow will involve more open home viewings, and much more driving around in the new car. 🙂

Author:

Kiwi, just returned home after 17 years in the UK. Feminist, wife, mother to 2 daughters. Strongly opinionated and very vocal. I'm wicked through and through.

Leave a Reply

