Posted in daily diary

Day 15: Work, rain, snail mail

Monday 3 October

Number of days since I accidentally turned on the wipers instead of indicating while driving: 2
(Although I haven’t actually driven anywhere today, it still counts.)

Today was my first day back at work. So, just to be a cow, the weather decided to start of with a brilliant start of clear skies and sunshine. Luckily, it started raining heavily by about 11am, so I felt better about the whole arrangement.

Work was a bit frustrating, and I found out just what would and wouldn’t work from over here, and which things I’ve been kicked out of. Queue a few emails for tech support overnight, and some support from my on-site technical dude, and I managed to get some work done. My laptop is now back on UK time, to enable me to use one of our internal systems, which is really messing with my head.

Not much else happened today. The kids played, did crafts, played scrabble with B (and won!), chatted to me and squabbled on and off. When B went to get the post from the mailbox, she apologised for the snails living in there, which had eaten my letter:

20161003_142410.jpg

We sent S, the snail-wrangler, down to sort them out, and she reported that the fat one had paper in its mouth. It does bring new meaning to the term “snail mail”! 🙂

The kids are now reading in bed, N & G are watching some suitably testosterone-fuelled film which has driven B from the room, and I’m faffing about to stay awake (yes, I really am that sad) so I can catch up with my colleagues when they get to work.

Tomorrow will be an early start, as I have to work, view two houses, and go visit my sister. But there’ll be driving in my our lovely car, so it will be fine. 🙂

Author:

Kiwi, just returned home after 17 years in the UK. Feminist, wife, mother to 2 daughters. Strongly opinionated and very vocal. I'm wicked through and through.

Leave a Reply

