Posted in daily diary

Day 21: birthday, bouncing and cake!

OK, so I know this was blimmin’ ages ago, but it was a big day for Moodle, so it deserves its own post. On the 9th of October, Moodle turned 11 – so close to the dreaded teenage years.

We started the day with presents in pjs, of course. Moodle is currently re-reading (for the umpteenth time) the Dragons of Pern books by Anne McCaffery, and she LOVES dragons. So we went with a dragon theme, and she got a large lego dragon, which was assembled straight away. (I didn’t really need to bother with the other things I got her, she’s barely looked at them, and I’m writing this nearly a month later.)

dsc06103.jpg

As we hardly know anyone, and they girls hadn’t started school, the day was a pretty quiet affair. My sister and her family met us at an indoor trampoline park, where the girls, along with their cousin, had a whale of a time exhausting themselves. They especially loved the trampolines beside a couple of walls of different height. The idea is to bounce up and land on the wall. They quickly mastered the lowest wall, and then spent ages trying to get the middle wall. Moodle and her cousin managed it, and then did it a few more times, just to prove it wasn’t a fluke. Squishy didn’t manage to get the middle one, but she is quite a bit shorter than the other two! Even N had a go, and before long was showing off, landing on his feet on the lowest wall. I didn’t even try, as I knew I’d just be covered in bruises, and still on the floor. I’m not built for that kind of activity.

The trampoline park was quite different from the ones we’d visited in the UK. Obviously, the concept is the same, but, well, there seem to be no rules. It was really winding up Moodle that the children weren’t obeying the rules (“They’re not wearing the right socks!”), bless her heart.

Anyway, after we’d worn out the kids, we headed back home for cake and junk food. And because I worked so fricking hard on the cake, I’m now going to spam you with lots of photos. 🙂

dsc06066.jpg

dsc06110_2.jpg

As I had no idea what I was doing, I had to resort to some unconventional techniques, such as toothpick scaffolding for the wings:

dsc06081.jpg

And some blobs of icing to glue the neck ruff back together after I snapped the damn thing:dsc06080.jpg

 

Anyway, Moodle loved it, and it tasted great. The dragon is still on a plate at the top of the cupboard, waiting for me to buy a cake plate with dome, so that it can come out.

 

And that’s all I can remember about the day. 🙂

Author:

Kiwi, just returned home after 17 years in the UK. Feminist, wife, mother to 2 daughters. Strongly opinionated and very vocal. I'm wicked through and through.

Leave a Reply

