Posted in children

I’m sorry, what did you say?

So I’m in the kitchen baking banana bran muffins. (I’m working on the whole ‘domestic goddess’ thing. To be fair, it needs a lot of work.)

Moodle is “helping” me bake, but first “just needs to finish” some faffing on her tablet.

We make idle conversation, until:

Moodle (to tablet): “Take that, you douchebag!”

Me (calmly*): “Excuse me?”

Moodle: [looks up from tablet] …

Me: “What did you just say?”

Moodle (light dawns, and a guilty little smile sneaks across her face): “Oh, well, there’s this dude, and he’s a real pain…”

Me: “Yes, but that word?”

Moodle: “Douchebag?”

Me: “Yes. That’s not really am appropriate word for an eleven-year-old.”

Moodle (totally unconcerned): “Oh, right.” [Totally loses interest, goes back to tablet.]

Yeah, so the “domestic goddess” thing needs more work perhaps.


* I know exactly where she’s heard it. It was me. Of course. Who else would it be?

I distinctly remember thinking I should stop shouting that at the cat when the kids were home… 

Author:

Kiwi, just returned home after 17 years in the UK. Feminist, wife, mother to 2 daughters. Strongly opinionated and very vocal. I'm wicked through and through.

Leave a Reply

