Posted in book club, Uncategorized

Book club: Armada

In an attempt to continue over-sharing my life, I thought I’ll start a wee book club. A virtual book club, obviously. Feel free to play along.

So, I’ve recently finished ready Armada by Ernest Cline.

I picked this book up (virtually, I ordered it online, because books cost a FORTUNE here down under) because I’d read Ready Player One by this author, and loved it.

This book has a similar feel to Ready Player One, with lots of references to 80s nostalgia, films, music and video games. The main character is 19 year old Zack Lightman, a video game-playing student about to finish school, and the story opens with Zack seeing a UFO outside his school during lessons. Bizarrely, the UFO looks just like one out of his favourite video game.

I don’t want to give away any key plot points, so will stop there. It’s a very easy read, but for me this didn’t have the same clever touch as Ready Player One. I found the plot twists predictable, and overly fore-shadowed. The story here doesn’t have much sophistication, and felt like it was written by a 15 year-old boy, aimed at other 15 year-old boys.

I kept going till the end, just to find out what happened, because I hate loose ends, but it was a bit of a slog to get there, to be honest. Along the way, I managed to put it face-down on a hot element while cooking dinner, and nearly burnt the house down…

20161209_133924.jpg

I did wonder if this was actually his first book, as it felt less polished than Cline’s other effort, but it turns out that this is indeed his second book, and he’s sold the film rights. I don’t think I’ll be target market for that one.

Verdict: 2/5 stars

Have any of you read it? What did you think?

 

Author:

Kiwi, just returned home after 17 years in the UK. Feminist, wife, mother to 2 daughters. Strongly opinionated and very vocal. I'm wicked through and through.

Leave a Reply

