Silently sobbing in the stairwell

Confessions of a drama llama

Lock down: Day 14

Emotions are high today, in danger of bubbling over. I had a disturbed night’s sleep, and kept waking up with anxious thoughts. I can feel the urge to cry, just a finger’s-breadth away. I foolishly looked at the news sites this morning, watched the Queen’s speech, and it broke me. It all just feels too hard today. I can’t wait for bedtime.


We opened Mum’s Hairdressing Salon yesterday, and both of the offspring are now sporting very colourful hair. We applied a lightening solution before we added the colour, as both kids have mid-dark brown hair like mine. Rather amusingly, they both went a bit ginger in the process, especially 14 yo. With their short hair towel dried and all on end, they were rocking a very ‘Fred & George Weasley’ vibe for a while there.

I don’t know what the school’s are going to say when the kids go back, but I’m not really bothered. Having teal or purple hair isn’t going to stop 14 yo or 12 yo from being excellent students and kind people. Oh, I can feel a general rant about school uniforms and appearance requirements coming on. I’ll try and spare you all and keep it repressed.


As a reward for all my hard work in the Salon yesterday, I was allowed to have some time on the PS4 to play Stardew Valley which was very relaxing. I haven’t played for ages, and it turns out I’m in Summer, year 3, have loads of money, cute animals, a greenhouse full of thriving plants, and a bunch of friends! If you haven’t played it, I do recommend it as a lovely stress-free activity.

Last night’s movie was Iron Man, prompted by someone on my twitter feed who was also watching it. So I rounded off the night with some amusing action and embroidery. (Cross-stitch updated: Birdie #3 (of 6) is now complete, and birdie #4 is just a pair of feet on the branch.)


I think the children are getting sick of me, but they put up with my nonsense rather well. Today I kicked them outside to get fresh air. We inflated a couple of almost forgotten sun-loungers, which surprisingly didn’t have holes. Then they set up camp on the deck to read for a while. I went back down to the office, coming up later to find the warmth had gone from the afternoon and the 12 yo was still out there – under a blanket. Bless her. At that point, I thought I should probably let them back in and back onto their gadgets.


Gratitude

I’m grateful for the space to be an emotional wreck, and not have to worry about it leaking all over the children.

Also, I’m thankful that the Easter Bunny has been classified as essential because I’m really in need of some emotional chocolate consumption.


Daily #LockDownHaiku

You happen to sneeze

Atishoo, we got covid

Run, run, run away

12 yo

Today on social media

Siouxsie and Toby answer all of you questions about masks:

Another Covid themed song, this one based on Bohemian Rhapsody:


And just like that, I’ve made it through another day. Be kind to each other.

Kia kaha. xx

Leave a comment