The one with snuggles, chocolate and cake

Welcome to week four

Lock down: Day 22

Well, hello again. I hope you had a lovely Easter weekend. We stayed in. You know, for a change. There were a few chocolate eggs and they lasted more than 5 minutes, so that’s a win. On a positive note, there were no fights and we’re all still getting along.

We had some early morning (OK, not that early) snuggles, all in bed together. We really need a bigger bed. I’m thinking a California King, so then there’ll still be room for me!

Snuggle puddle. Pictured: Gizmo, MrMilk, MiniMilk and MilkShake (with their teal hair).

We got the Lego out over the weekend and MiniMilk has spent several days building a variety of creations. It’s very cute.


MrMilk decided he’d finally had enough of the sliding door to the hall, which had dropped off the mounting ages ago. It was a buggar to open and close, but impossible to get at to fix. So he ripped the door surround off and managed to pry the door out. The door was then fixed, painted and rehung. Then he made new trim to replace the bits he’d literally ripped to bits to get out, primed and painted them, and put it all back together. So now we have a working door. It glides. So smoothly. We also have a happy MrMilk. He loves to fix things. 🙂


I’ve got a huge TBR pile, and am midway through several books at the moment, but for some reason I don’t seem able to focus on reading. I’ve tried a variety of different things, but all I seem able to focus on is twitter. It’s getting very frustrating. So instead of reading, I’ve been watching tv, knitting and trying to avoid anything stressful on the internet. I did manage to get control of the TV for long enough to watch The Maltese Falcon yesterday. Humphrey Bogart, swagger, dames and PIs. Nice.

Gizmo was keeping me company while I watched The Maltese Falcon. It’s me he loves, not my snacks.

In case you’re keeping score, we also watched Thor, MiniMilk had a The Good Place binge-watch day, and we’ve also started watching Chuck.

The cross-stitch has been relegated back to the box. Every time I pick it up, I’ve been making loads of mistakes and having to unpick and start again. So I’ve gone back to knitting a scarf. Much less brain power required. This is the third or fourth scarf I’ve knitted from this pattern, so it really doesn’t require too much thinking. The only downside to this is that we live in a very temperate climate – it never really gets cold enough for a scarf. Or four scarves.

MiniMilk and I sorted out the crafting box over the weekend. She wanted to try a new cross-stitch, so I wanted to work out what materials I already had that we could use. We found a very cute pattern (of a sloth) online, and we managed to find enough aida fabric and threads for the pattern. She’s now started, and it’s looking very cute.


Gratitude

Today I’m grateful for all the essential workers who are out there doing their thing while I laze around at home. One of them is my adorable neighbour and it is her birthday today. So we made a wee gift for her and dropped it on her doorstep then sang happy birthday from the edge of her driveway.

Because what’s a birthday without Prosecco?
It’s a single-serve bottle, not an enormous cake.

Today on social media

One for the musical theatre, Hamilton-loving types: the Zoom where it happens…

If you haven’t seen the love for the Director General of Health here in NZ, you’re in for a treat:


Watching the Covid19 news has been a mixed bag over the last few days. Case numbers are down, but we’ve had several more deaths. Sad isn’t a big enough word. Everything else is a cliche. But my heart goes out to those families, and to those whose family members are ill. To those who are struggling financially, or mentally. To those whose home isn’t a safe haven. To those who aren’t home, or don’t have a home. To those who are alone.

Kia kaha. xx

Leave a comment