Safe at home

Still building that wall

Lock down: Day 18

I saw a picture on twitter which I quite liked today. Instead of feeling stuck at home, you should think of being safe at home:

It’s a nice reminder to me that how we frame things makes such a difference in how we perceive them. Thinking about being stuck makes me want to get out, but being safe here makes me happy to snuggle in.


Last night Chewie, the ginger monster cat bought in a rat. A not-dead rat. Into the hall. And then let it go, the pillock. There was much shrieking and faffing about (mostly from me) as we tried to get the nastly little rodent out of the house. I swear these arsehole cats have just found a nest of rodents that they’re cultivating so they always have something to play with.

Continuing the theme of stupid animals, the dog came charging in from a toilet break, yelping, squealing and dragging his butt on the ground. At first we thought he’d managed to be stung on the butt or something, but we finally noticed he was limping. Everytime we touched his paw, he would set off again. I finally managed to get him under a good light, MilkShake & MiniMilk holding him down and still, so I could investigate. It turned out he had a prickle in the pad of his paw. A prickle. A teeny, tiny, weeny, little prickle. There was more drama as I pulled it out, and then quite a lot of exaggerated limping and wound-licking, but by the time we went to bed he was fine. He’s so dramatic!


It’s been a lovely sunny day here today, so we stayed indoors and played some games. MiniMilk has been asking for someone to play Monopoly with her for ages, so I promised earlier in the week that we could play this weekend. She didn’t waste any time in reminding me about this today, so the two of us had a game this morning. She finally surrendered when she landed on Regent Street with three houses. Oops. You shouldn’t let them win, right? It’s character building to lose, right?

I made another cake today, this time an egg-less, butter-less chocolate cake. It was another really easy recipe, and very nice, although Mini-Milk says she can taste the vegetable oil in it (all 2 TBSP) and therefore doesn’t like it. MrMilk and MilkShake have no such problems, so I don’t think this will be a problem. The recipe is here if you’re curious. I like it, but MilkShake and I agree we prefer the lemon one from the other day.

We made pizza for dinner tonight. We used to make our own pizza dough in the bread machine, but I’ve been too lazy for that lately, so we used pre-made bases instead. Then we load up with toppings, bake and then stuff ourselves. They were delicious!


MiniMilk has been on babble mode again today. I explained my theory on our number of words. Years ago when I started training, I head that we each have a certain number of words we need to get out each day. Typically men have less daily words than women, but your mileage may vary. When I worked in an office, I’d get home for work and still have several thousand words to use up, so poor MrMilk would get an earful, every day. Once I started training, and was talking all day, every day, I would get home and not have a word to say. I think we’re discovering that MilkShake has a fairly low daily word count, taking after MrMilk, while MiniMilk has a MUCH HIGHER daily word count, and it’s starting to bubble over. It needs to come out!


Tonight’s movie, in case you’re following along, is Captain Marvel. With Goose, the cat! We love Goose. 🙂

I also found the freeview app on my TV and we watched the 2019 Royal Variety Performance this afternoon. If you haven’t seen it, the contortionist is eye-poppingly bendy. I’ve never seen anything like it. There was also a Mary Poppins number, which we weren’t sure about as they’d changed it from the film. That lead onto a discussion of Dick Van Dyke, his appalling Cockney accent, and how he does a funky song and dance number in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Turns out the kids don’t remember watching that, so it’s on my list of things to find.

It also turns out that the kids don’t remember going to Center Parcs, or watching Balamory either (“What’s the story, Balamory?”). It’s like all that time and effort spent while they were little was wasted! I’m going to have to fish out some photos and bore/embarrass them.


Gratitude

I’m thankful for cake. And cuddles.


Daily #LockDownHaiku

MiniMilk has decided to write me a promotional haiku for today:

If you’re in a state
Read pinkmilkisyummy blog
It’ll cheer you up

MiniMilk

Today on social media

I’ve always loved this song, and this is a beautiful version:

There’s the amusing story of Pickle (the cat) and a big green parrot:

And there are so many people being creative with their whole family during their lockdown, unlike us. We’re just eating and snuggling. Anyway, this family recreated the opening sequence from The Simpsons:


Keep building that wall everyone. Stay home, stay safe.

Kia kaha. xx

Leave a comment